Inter-American Court of Human Rights Case of the 19 Merchants v. Colombia Judgment of July 5, 2004 (Merits, Reparations and Costs) In the case of the 19 Tradesmen, the Inter-American Court of Human Rights (hereinafter “the Court” or “the InterAmerican Court”), composed of the following judges:* Sergio García Ramírez, President Alirio Abreu Burelli, Vice President Oliver Jackman, Judge Antônio A. Cançado Trindade, Judge Cecilia Medina Quiroga, Judge Manuel E. Ventura Robles, Judge, and Ernesto Rey Cantor, Judge ad hoc; also present, Pablo Saavedra Alessandri, Secretary, and Emilia Segares Rodríguez, Deputy Secretary, pursuant to Articles 29, 31, 55, 56 and 57 of the Rules of Procedure of the Court (hereinafter “the Rules of Procedure”)** and to Article 63(1) of the American Convention on Human Rights (hereinafter “the Convention” or “the American Convention”), delivers this judgment. I INTRODUCTION OF THE CASE 1. On January 24, 2001, the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (hereinafter “the Commission” or “the Inter-American Commission”) filed before the Court an application against the State of Colombia (hereinafter “the State” or “Colombia”), originating from petition No. 11,603, received by the Secretariat of the Commission on March 6, 1996. 2. The Commission filed the application based on Article 61 of the American Convention, for the Court to decide whether the State violated Articles 4 (Right to Life) and 7 (Right to Personal Freedom) of the American Convention, as a result of the detention, disappearance and execution on October 6, 1987, of the tradesmen Alvaro Lobo Pacheco, Gerson Rodríguez, Israel Pundor, Ángel Barrera, Antonio Florez * Judge Diego García-Sayán excused himself from taking part in the deliberation and signature of this judgment. ** According to the Order of March 13, 2001, on Transitory Provisions to the Rules of Procedure of the Court in force since June 1, 2001, this judgment is delivered in the terms of the Rules of Procedure adopted in the Order of the Court of September 16, 1996, which entered into force on January 1, 1997.

Select target paragraph3