Inter-American Court of Human Rights
Case of Acevedo-Jaramillo et al. v. Peru
Judgment of November 24, 2006

(Interpretation of the Judgment of Preliminary Objections, Merits,
Reparations and Costs)

In the case of Acevedo-Jaramillo et al. v. Peru,
The Inter-American Court of Human Rights (hereinafter, “the Court”, or “the InterAmerican Court” or "the Tribunal"), composed of the following judges **:
Sergio García-Ramírez, President;
Alirio Abreu-Burelli, Vice-President;
Antônio A. Cançado-Trindade, Judge;
Cecilia Medina-Quiroga, Judge;
Manuel E. Ventura-Robles, Judge; and
Javier de Belaunde-López de Romaña, Judge ad hoc;
also present,
Pablo Saavedra-Alessandri, Secretary, and
Emilia Segares-Rodríguez, Deputy Secretary;
pursuant to Article 67 of the American Convention on Human Rights (hereinafter “the
Convention” or “the American Convention”) and Article 59 of the Rules of Procedure
of the Court (hereinafter “the Rules of Procedure”), delivers the following judgment
on the requests for interpretation of the Judgment of Preliminary Objections, Merits,
Reparations and Costs issued by the Court on February 7, 2006 in the case of
Acevedo-Jaramillo, et al. (hereinafter “the Judgment of the Court”) filed on May 29
and 30, 2006 by Saavedra-Rivera, Héctor Paredes-Márquez, Pablo Gonza Tito and
Marcelino Isidro Huere, who are the victims' representatives other than the common
intervener for the representatives.

Judge Diego García-Sayán, a Peruvian national, was not part of the Court in this case because at
the time he was sworn in, the State of Peru had already appointed a judge ad hoc pursuant to the
provisions of Article 10 of the Statute of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights. Furthermore, Judge
Oliver Jackman did not participate in the deliberations and signing of the instant Judgment because, as he
informed, due to reasons beyond his control, he would be unable to attend the 73 rd Regular Session of the

Select target paragraph3